Visiting Speakers Bureau

*The VSB is not currently funded.*

The Academy of Inquiry Based Learning had previously established a Visiting Speakers Bureau of experienced Inquiry-Based Learning practitioners who are available to visit institutions to facilitate, encourage and support the use of inquiry-based learning. Visits ranged from invited talks to longer-term visits during which the visitor could mentor faculty or teach using an IBL approach. 

The VSB was also used to support travel for mentors and mentees to meet with one another. If you would like to request a visit by one of these individuals or someone else in the future, please send an email to Stan Yoshinobu

  • Edward Burger, President of Southwestern University
  • David Clark, SUNY New Paltz (NY)
  • Bill Donnell, University of Texas--Pan American (TX, retired)
  • Dana Ernst, Northern Arizona University
  • Angie Hodge, University of Nebraska Omaha
  • Tom Ingram, University of Missouri at Rolla (retired)
  • Jackie Jensen-Vallin, Slippery Rock University
  • Gordon Johnson, University of Houston (TX)
  • Matthew G. Jones, California State University Dominguez Hills (CA)
  • Sandra Laursen, University of Colorado Boulder
  • W. Ted Mahavier, Lamar University (TX)
  • Lee May, Salisbury University (MD)
  • John Neuberger, University of North Texas
  • G. Edgar Parker, James Madison University (VA)
  • Elwood Parker, Guildford College (NC)
  • Kyle Petersen, DePaul University (IL)
  • Carol Schumacher, Kenyon College (OH)
  • Michel Smith, Auburn University (AL)
  • Cornelius Stallmann, Augusta State University (GA)
  • Michael Starbird, University of Texas at Austin
  • Chuck Straley, Wheaton College (MA)
  • Ron Taylor, Berry College
  • Stan Yoshinobu, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo (CA)